Local Government Units and Government Agencies Meet to Discuss Progress of Yolanda Rehabilitation Projects in Central Visayas

Share Button

A forum on Yolanda Rehabilitation Projects (YRP) was held at Neda Regional Office (NRO) 7 on February 4, 2016. Seventeen out of twenty agencies and twelve out of sixteen affected local government units (LGUs) were represented. The agencies presented their YRP status updates, while the LGUs raised their issues and concerns.

group photo

The project bottlenecks that were identified by the Yolanda Project Monitoring Office (PMO) under NRO 7 were clarified by the concerned agencies during the forum. NRO 7 also presented to the agencies and LGUs the features of the Project Information Management System (PIMS) database, a web-based database application for storage, retrieval and report generation of monitoring reports to be used by the Regional Project Monitoring Committee (RPMC) in tracking YRP in Central Visayas.

Based on the summary of agency reports, as of December 31, 2015, three agencies have completed their projects, namely: Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Transportation and Communications-Cebu Port Authority (DOTC-CPA), and Philippine Coconut Authority (PCA). While another three agencies are about to complete their projects: Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH), and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA).

In addition, eight agencies have also accomplished more than 50% of projects which are due for completion in 2016: Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Health (DOH), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Transportation and Communications-Philippine Coast Guard (DOTC-PCG), and Department of Trade and Industry (DTI).


Five agencies have less than 50% accomplishment, namely: Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Education (DepEd), Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Department of Tourism (DOT), and Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD),

The four agencies that are still in the process of implementing their projects are the National Housing Authority (NHA), National Irrigation Administration (NIA), Local Water Utilities Administration (LWUA), and Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (HLURB). Issues like land classification is among the major project bottlenecks that these agencies are experiencing considering the nature of their projects.